

PARLIAMENT OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA

LOCAL AUTHORITIES (SPECIAL PROVISIONS) ACT, No. 2 OF 2006

[Certified on 19th January, 2006]

Printed on the Order of Government

Published as a Supplement to Part II of the **Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka** of January 20, 2006

PRINTED AT THE DEPARTMENT OF GOVERNMENT PRINTING, SRI LANKA

to be purchased at the government publications bureau, colombo 1

Price: Rs. 6.75 Postage: Rs. 5.00

Local Authorities (Special Provisions) Act, No. 2 of 2006

[Certified on 19th January, 2006]

L. D. - O. 5/2006

An act to provide for the calling of fresh nominations and the holding of Elections in respect of certain Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas, in the northern and Eastern Provinces where elections to such Councils and Sabhas have been postponed due to unforseen and urgent circumstances; and to provide for matters connected therewith or incidental theretio.

WHEREAS Notices were published under section 26 of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance, that nominations will be received in respect of elections to all Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas in the Northern and Eastern Provinces:

Preamble.

AND WHEREAS nominations were received in respect of three Municipal Councils, six Urban Councils and forty-four Pradeshiya Sabhas and no nominations were received in respect of seven Pradeshiya Sabhas:

AND WHEREAS out of the above Councils and Sabhas, elections in respect of three Municipal Councils, six Urban Councils and fifty-one Pradeshiya Sabhas, were contested and therefore the date of poll for elections to these Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas was fixed for March 25, 2002 by Notices published under section 38 of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance in respect of the respective Councils and Sabhas:

AND WHEREAS the dates of poll fixed for the holding of elections for the aforesaid three Municipal Councils, six Urban Councils and fifty-one Pradeshiya Sabhas were postponed from time to time due to urgent and unforseen circumstances by Orders made under subsection (3) of section 38 of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance.

AND WHEREAS persons who have tendered their nominations have either died or been displaced, or have changed their party, or due to the fact that a considerable number of persons who have tendered their nominations have

gone abroad, or where persons who were below the age of thirty-five at the time of tendering nominations are now over the age of thirty - five, it has become necessary to provide for the calling of fresh nominations in respect of the aforesaid Municipal Counicls, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas:

AND WHEREAS due to the period of time that has elapsed since the submission of nominations in respect of the aforesaid three Municipal Councils, six Urban Councils and fifty-one Pradeshiya Sabhas, it has become necessary to provide for the calling of fresh nominations in respect of such Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas, and to make provision for the holding of fresh elections in respect of the aforesaid Councils and Sabhas:

NOW THEREFORE, BE it enacted by the Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka as follows:—

Short title.

- **1.** This Act may be cited as the Local Authorities (Special Provisions) Act, No. 2 of 2006.
- 2. (1) Nomination papers submitted, under section 28 of the Ordinance in respect of elections to the Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas specified in Schedules I, II and III in response to the Notices published under section 26 of the Ordinance are hereby deemed to be of no force and effect, and as if such nomination papers had never been submitted.
- (2) The Notices published under section 38 of the Ordinance in respect of elections to the Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas specified in Schedules I, II and III are hereby revoked.
- (3) Deposits made under section 29 of the Ordinance in respect of candidates nominated by an independent group for election to any of the Muncipal Councils, Urban Councils or Pradeshiya Sabhas specified in Schedules I, II and III shall notwithstanding anything to the contrary in section 30 of

Provisions relating to nominations and deposits in

respect of elections to certain Councils and Sabhas.

the Ordinance, be refunded to the person by whom the deposit was made, on the production by such person, of the receipt issued to him under sub section (3) of section 30 of the Ordinance together with interest on such deposit at the rate of twelve *per centum* per annum, from the date of deposit to the date of refund.

3. Steps shall be commenced under the Ordinance, for the holding of elections to the Municipal Councils and Urban Councils and the Pradeshiya Sabhas specified in Schedule I, II and III:

Steps to be commenced for holding of elections.

Provided that the notice of nomination in terms of the Ordinance shall be published on such date as the Minister may determine by Order published in the *Gazette*, such date shall however, not be later than six months from the date of the coming into operation of this Act.

4. In this Act, "Ordinance" means the Local Authorities Election Ordinance (Chapter 262).

Interpretation.

5. In the event of any inconsistency between the Sinhala and Tamil texts of this Act, the Sinhala text shall prevail.

Sinhala text to prevail in case of inconsistency.

SCHEDULE I

MUNICIPAL COUNCILS

- 1. Batticaloa Municipal Council
- 2. Jaffna Municipal Council
- 3. Kalmunai Municipal Council

SCHEDULE II

Urban Councils

- 1. Kathankudy Urban Council
- 2. Chavekachcheri Urban Council
- 3. Point Pedro Urban Council
- 4. Valvettithurai Urban Council
- 5. Trincomalee Urban Council
- 6. Vavuniya Urban Council

Local Authorities (Special Provisions) Act, No. 2 of 2006

SCHEDULE III

PRADESHIYA SABHAS

1. Ninthavur Pradeshiya Sabha

4

- 2. Samanthurai Pradeshiya Sabha
- 3. Addlarchenai Pradeshiya Sabha
- 4. Akkaraipattu Pradeshiya Sabha
- 5. Pottuvil Pradeshiya Sabha
- 6. Thriukkovil Pradeshiya Sabha
- 7. Koralai Pattu North Pradeshiya Sabha
- 8. Koralai Pattu West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 9. Koralai Pattu Pradeshiya Sabha
- 10. Eravul Pattu Pradeshiya Sabha
- 11. Mannmunai West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 12. Mannmunai Pattu Pradeshiya Sabha
- 13. Mannmunai South Earuvil Pattu Pradeshiya Sabha
- 14. Mannmunai Pattu South West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 15. Town and Gravets Pradeshiya Sabha
- 16. Kuchchaveli Pradeshiya Sabha
- 17. Thampalagamam Pradeshiya Sabha
- 18. Kinniya Pradeshiya Sabha
- 19. Muthur Pradeshiya Sabha
- 20. Kanthale Pradeshiya Sabha
- 21. Gomarankadawela Pradeshiya Sabha
- 22. Morawewa Pradeshiya Sabha
- 23. Padavisiripura Pradeshiya Sabha
- 24. Seruwila Pradeshiya Sabha
- 25. Chavakachcheri Pradeshiya Sabha
- 26. Delft Pradeshiya Sabha
- 27. Velanai Pradeshiya Sabha
- 28. Kayts Pradeshiya Sabha
- 29. Valikamam West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 30. Valikamam South West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 31. Valikamam South Pradeshiya Sabha
- 32. Valikamam North Pradeshiya Sabha
- 33. Valikamam East Pradeshiya Sabha
- 34. Vadamarachchi South West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 35. Point Pedro Pradeshiya Sabha
- 36. Nallur Pradeshiya Sabha
- 37. Vavuniya South Tamil Pradeshiya Sabha
- 38. Vavuniya South Sinhala Pradeshiya Sabha
- 39. Vavuniya North Pradeshiya Sabha
- 40. Vengalachchedikulam Pradeshiya Sabha
- 41. Mannar Pradeshiya Sabha
- 42. Manthai West Pradeshiya Sabha
- 43. Nanattan Pradeshiya Sabha

- 44. Musali Pradeshiya Sabha
- 45. Maritime Pradeshiya Sabha
- 46. Puthukudiyiruppu Pradeshiya Sabha
- 47. Thunukkai Pradeshiya Sabha
- 48. Manthai East Pradeshiya Sabha
- 49. Karachchi Pradeshiya Sabha
- 50. Poonakary Pradeshiya Sabha
- 51. Pachchilaipalli Pradeshiya Sabha

